Faringdon War Memorial

Faringdon Market Hall 1920sWar MemorialAt a public meeting in 1919 it was decided to renovate the Old Town Hall, which had been in danger of being demolished, and place a tablet thereon containing the names of those who had given their lives in World War I from the parishes of Faringdon, Little Coxwell, Littleworth and Thrupp. The refurbished Town Hall and the memorial plaque (shown above the poppies in the earlier photo from the 1920s) were unveiled by Lord Faringdon on Sunday 6th February 1921. The service was conducted by the Rev. E. B. Lock, Vicar of Faringdon, who was accompanied by the Rev. G. T. Bent, Vicar of Littleworth; the Rev. E. Legg, Congregational Minister and Rev. Seymour-King, Baptist Minister. A large number of people, including about 50 ex-Service men, attended the service.

The second photo that I have just taken today in mid-May 2020 only has two wreaths left following the 75th anniversary celebrations on Victory in Europe Day this year. This is the day for celebrating the formal acceptance by the Allies of World War II of Nazi Germany’s unconditional surrender of its armed forces on Tuesday, 8 May 1945, marking the end of World War II in Europe.

The following was engraved on the oak tablet:- “To our Glorious Dead 1914-1918”.

C. W. Banbury
H. W. Blake
C. E. Bull
F. Burchall
G. G. Burge
H. D. Burgess
W. H. Carey
E. Chambers
J. Clements
F. P. Cobden
A. E. Counsell
R. Davis
W. Dixey
E. W. Dodd
A. Ford
S. H. Ford
A. J. Fuller
J. Codwin
W. J. Corton
W. G. Grand
A. C. Grey
C. H. Gosling
O. O. Goswell
J. H. Habgood
F. Haines
C. B. Hamblin
J. H. Hanna
W. C. Harris
G. W Haynes
O. M. Haynes
W. Higgs
T. J. Horne
H. W Hunter
W. C. Indge
H. Kibble
A. E. King
T. R. Lardner
J. T. Legg
T. F. Lewis
C. H. Lovelock
G. McDonald
S. Merchant
F. A. Mobey
G. Mulcock-Panting
B. Mulford
F. Nash
A. V. Page
F. Parsons
J. Pauling
R. Pawling
F. C. Pearcey
R. H. Perry
A. R. Platt
M. Powell
T. Poweli
J. Preston
]. Proctor
R. Richens
F. Richings
P. Richings
R. Robins
W. V. Rogers
C. E. Russ
G. E. Ryman
W. l. Sell
R. H. Shimmon
S. Sims
H. Stallard
C. Stepp
W. J. Talbot
B. Thomas
H. Toon
A. E. Turnbull
E. J. Walker
H. Walker
P. ]. Whiting
E. C. Wiggins
C. G. Willis
C. J. Willis
J. Wiltshire
G. W Winney
A. Woods
J. Wornham
A. E. Wright
P. Yates
T. Yates
W. Young

Casualties for the 2nd World War, 1939-45, have been added:-

R. L. Bailey
P. Berry
D. E. Betterton
R. Chapman
W. Carter
A. J. Davis
F. Jackson
C. F. Kebble
L. Liddiard
C. W. S. McDonald C. Hill
A. Mercer
Alfred Palmer
Arthur Palmer
C. C. Dowell
R. Goddard
W. A. Goodbody
H. F. Cray
R. Hicks
C. Hill
A. Hobbs
R. W. F. Luckett
C. J. Pike
H. R. Priestman
P. Proctor
E. Sadler
R. N. Shard
R. E. l. Stevens
R. ]. Stickley
W. i. Taylor
M. H. Tucker
J. Wearn
K. Webb
G. H. Whiting
L. Wright

Extracted from: The Changing Faces of Faringdon and Surrounding Villages – Bk2 p44. By Rosemary Church, Jim Brown, Millie Bryan and Beryl Newman. Robert Boyd Publications.